Murder On The Orient Express

Murder On The Orient Express, by Agatha Christie, is my first, and assuredly not last, book by this author. It’s not gory at all, which I am thankful for, and it’s also packed with twists, turns, and logical thinking. The thing I like the best, though, was that I couldn’t guess anything at all. But that’s kind of the fun of it, isn’t it? (No? Well, it is if you stink at guessing.)

There’s a whole lot of lying and cheating, which makes the story denser and a lot richer. And a whole lot more to think about. It has so many great twists and turns. It’s confusing in some places, but wonderful.

The characters are not incredibly animated, but then they don’t have to be, do they? One thing they are is incredibly complicated. With layer upon layer… (I feel an urge to link to Shrek’s “like an onion” quote, but I won’t. Go look it up, if you must.) The characters’ histories are delectable. The way that every one of them is linked to another:perfect. 

The only remotely boring part of this book is the introduction of the characters. The rest of the book is full of revelations and lies, and the conclusion is very interesting… I will be reading this again. I will be reading more Agatha Christie. She’s great, and this book is great. Now start reading it.

Tags: , ,

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Murder in Mesopotamia « BookMarks - August 11, 2009
  2. And Then There Were None « BookMarks - August 3, 2009
  3. The Pale Horse « BookMarks - July 19, 2009

Leave a comment