Story #36

Feelin’ a bit whiny? Want to rant a bit? I have just the trick. Here’s my own remedy, a whiny poem. Nifty, eh?

O, you great artists,

You great writers and poets,

You theorists and playwrights.

You are the source of the bar always hanging

Above my head.

You are the source of the curse

Of originality.

I am sorry to trouble you

Resting in your graves (er, mostly*)

But I want to rant

Juuuust a bit

About the curse — your curse.

Us budding writers

Are afraid

Of failing to find

Those elusive new ideas.

The ones that look great in our heads

But fail on the page.

The shining pinnacles of light

That fry us upon reaching them.

And when a story seems right

And the budding confidence overwhelms us

That’s when we start thinking.

About our “inspiration.”

Our heroes

The ones we studied under.

And we start thinking

“What will they think?”

and

“Is this new?”

And we get jealous

Of the ones who succeeded

The dreams disappear.

The joy evaporates.

But the hope of a next time

Remains.

And so I have a question for all of you

Who succeeded.

Simply:

“How?”

Whiny enough for you? Thought so. *Well, I dunno about most, but it seems like a lot of great writers are dead…

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

Leave a Reply

