The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time



The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is a murder mystery. It’s also a dysfunctional family story, an incredibly geeky book (in a good way), and very, very different. Indeed, it will make some people go

If you don’t like strange quirks, first-person action and sappy drama right out of Gilmore Girls, it’s safe to say you’ll be one of those people. However, I like those things fine, so I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

The plot is not linear, with the main character rambling on about this and that. If the main plot was more compelling, this would be quite irritating. But it’s not, and this is very well done. It just adds to the fun, for me. This also makes it more character-based, as we get to hear more about our main character. The murder mystery is not edge-of-the-seat action, and the murder isn’t the real mystery. It’s fun while it lasts, but the mystery is solved about halfway through. Then the plot switches to a Hollywood movie action sequence, which I thought was kinda lame,  and finally is right there in familiar territory with dysfunctional family time. (Yes, I watch too much Gilmore Girls.) Unfortunately for me, the dysfunctional family part was a bit too familiar, and it lost the fun. It was just sappy and tired.

The characters are very true-to-life. Amazingly true-to-life. The first-person view is truly stepping into someone else’s shoes, and you don’t often get a chance to do that. In my opinion, the book is worth the sap to experience and understand the life of the main character. The only problem is that the other characters, while good, pale in comparison to him.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (I feel so weird typing that again!) is a good book that has a great, new perspective, a fun, but frivolous mystery, and some annoyingly bad plot. The bad plot is just a small blemish in this otherwise wonderfully madcap and fun (yet a bit tragic) book. Also: Yay for sci-fi references! This book is chock-full of’ ’em! (Again, it adds to the reality of it all, as a fifteen-year-old boy would certainly reference media in his book. I know I would.)

Tags: ,

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

Leave a Reply

