The 4 Year Old Chronicles (Story #21)

“Mommy, what does bombastic mean?” I asked when I was 4.

“Where did you learn it?”she said, using circumlocution to hide the fact that she didn’t know what it meant.

“What does it meean?”

“Go out and play.”

“Aww..”

I wanted to know what it meant, so I went to my friend Nicki. She was 7 years old.

“You look like you stuck your head in a croc’s mouth. What’s wrong?”she said, using a colloquial expression.

“What does bombastic mean?”

“Err..bombastic?”

Now, Nicki was normally quite diffuse. I didn’t understand what was so strange about this word. But I was getting nowhere, so I went to ask my parrot. Yes,my parrot. I was a 4 year old all right?

“Parrot?”

“Awk?”

“What does bombastic mean?

“Pompous! Awk! Pompous! Awk!”

“Bad parrot!”(4 year old)

“Awk! Unfair! Your idea of good and bad is flawed! Awk! I digress! Pompous! Awk!”

Obviously, the parrot was in an aggressive mood. So I went to ask my dad. My dad was a professor. He used eloquence to impress students because of his knowledge of the subject…namely words. I ran right to his office and didn’t stop to think. I didn’t know how garrulous he could be.

“Daddy, what does bombastic mean?”

“I’m bu-bombastic? Well,it’s not known, but we think we can trace it to the latin roots of-”

I had to run away mid-latin root. My dad was definitely voluble. But my grandma might understand.

“What does bombastic mean, grandma?”

“Well, when I was your age, I didn’t know what rhetorical meant..”

Oh no. She was going to prattle on about when she was a kid. And those stories were usually very verbose. Then she was going to rant about how hot dogs were 5 cents. And finally ramble about how everything was better then. I didn’t want to be around for that.I dashed to the table and stared at what they called the dict-ion-ary. Hmm..

“Bomb-ast-ic. Pompous,loquacious. Huh.”

Well, I was done with that word. But then I glimpsed another word. Grandiloquent.”Mommy..”

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

One response to “The 4 Year Old Chronicles (Story #21)”

  1. Randy says :

    I think I had similar conversations when I was a kid. Most of the words I learned were from comic books. Bombastic might even have been one of them.

Leave a Reply

