Story #8

I had to get a job. I didn’t want to be like my friend who (since she lost her inheritance money) lives in a hotel and hoards her food. But what job? This would be a great thing to talk about at the annual job fair…except my school didn’t have one. it’s always been an atypical school, and that’s been impeding on my schoolwork. My school has several idiosyncrasies; one is the fact that it’s too optimistic. It even gets into the school’s history! The teachers seem to focus on the good things in history. They skip past the tyrants that lived in infamy, and the wars. Another thing is that they’re almost too environmentally friendly. They insist we ride to school on bicycles, they try to use one piece of paper a day, and they NEVER buy toilet paper. I’ll let you think about the consequences of that on your own. My school incited me to think about getting a job. Is the rest of the world this crazy? I wanted to know before I graduated from college. If the rest of the world wasn’t I was be so incongruous, I would stand out like a monkey in a field of sheep. So I researched jobs. On Google I searched… “Jobs, jobs, jobs!” The first hit was: Acting. The histrionic art. Acting? Hmm…I’ve thought I’d be laughed at in acting, and then I loved it. I liked acting this year. Yep, that might be a good one. But there might be a better option. Google’s next one was Husbandry – the best job for the struggling college grad! Hmm… Not bad, but I’d be so bored, and I’d have to use pesticides! I was wracking my brains until my teacher came up to me. “Thinking about a job?” she asked. “Mmm…” I mumbled, not really listening. “You know, you’re only in 5th grade.” She walked away, sighing.

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

Leave a Reply

