Red Agave

Red Agave Storefront

Red Agave is a Latin restaurant at 454 Willamette Street. (Kinda near 5th Street Market, and next to Morning Glory Cafe.) It’s a cozy place with bright colors and interesting paintings. (A piece with the name painted on it, “Mexican Einstein” was a highlight.) Surprisingly, it’ll make room for a huge amount of people. I reserved a table for 11, and they made it! (Only 9 people were coming…oops) I usually don’t talk about drinks, being a minor, but I had to make an exception. There was an extensive drink menu with a bacon drink. Nobody had ordered it, but I goaded someone into getting it. It was: The Log Cabin, with a description saying: once again, bacon makes it better. Pendleton Bourbon, maple syrup, Red Agave bacon, on the rocks. Oh my. It arrived with bacon pieces on a stick floating in a brown liquid. It was not appetizing. My (great-)Aunt hated it. It was certainly a spectator sport watching her drink it. And I got a delicious tamarind non-alcoholic margarita. Thor thought it was delicious, producing funny pictures. But on to the food! I got a delicious and beautiful ahi ceviche (obviously the highlight of the appetizers), but it wasn’t technically a ceviche, as the tuna was raw, not “cooked” by the acid. Still, full of nom. The rest of the appetizers were good, but boring. For main courses, I got the pork tenderloin with yummy potatoes and mushrooms, as well as a tomatillo-avocado sauce. Mom got enchiladas with an excellent mole, Dad and Grandma (on my dad’s side) got a chile relleno, Great-Aunt got some lamb, great-grandma got some soup, and one of my Aunts got the phyllo dough salmon. It was all great. We ended the meal with some delicious key lime pie.

In closing, Red Agave is an excellent restaurant with Latin flair. It’s not fancy, and open late. Go there!

Red Agave on Urbanspoon

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

One response to “Red Agave”

  1. Lynn McBeth says :

    Isabelle—Great review. In retrospect, I think I could revisit the bacon/bourbon extravaganza—if I made it. The chunky pancetta was brilliant, but the drink itself was too watery and sweet. It didn’t match the intensity of the bacon. And, that was such a great bourbon wasted. So, I would make it as a dry manhattan with the skewers of bacon replacing the cherry.

    When you’re twenty-one, maybe we can try again.

    Today’s OREGONIAN had a “Best Restaurants” insert for the Portland area. I will try to get a copy for you for the Portland part of your Oregon’s restaurants grand tour.

    Love, Aunt Lynnie

Leave a Reply

