Why My Head Is Exploding (Story #2)

My brother, Thor, has the pre-school channel Sprout on all day. “Need Sprout!” he says. It’s your basic fare; cute, squeaky, and perennially happy. Sure, it’s just right for his age. Yes, it makes him laugh. But this “Oh, that’s wooooonderful! Everything’s  juust greeat!”…blech. Most of the shows aren’t so bad. They heavy-handedly tackle problems people have with more than a touch of cheese and creative animals/toys/trains, etc.  They’re… survivable, I’ll say that. “Kipper” is the most artsy of the bunch, and also the most palatable, not trying to teach but rather provide fun. I could imagine it was made by a parent whose head is exploding like mine. Yes, the real problem is the show that shows the shows…the host that introduces them and his/her sidekick. I’m talking about the Good Night Show (the drama of the hosts-fascinating) and Sunny Side Up Show, which introduce the various shows with songs, cheese and dubiously fun activities. Their exaggerated movements and expressions mimic a soap opera. (The good night show host was on a telenovela, Los Teens.) It just makes me want to puke. But Thor does not scream while it’s on, and though it’s horrible, it’s better than most TV. So I will just have to keep watching. My way to survive is to pay close attention to the background. Or I could just, y’know, ignore it.

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

Leave a Reply

