Story #1

This is a story using spelling words, written for school.

My friend’s birthday was coming up, and she had an affinity for fads. Her current one was cats, but her fad could change any second. I decided I would give her a prank gift – a bag of cat food. But then I saw something on the aisles of Target. (it was a classy one, a tar-jay) It was…something- with lots of buttons, and it was so fancy it looked like it should have come with an affidavit. I picked it up. I instantaneously regretted it. It burned badly. I cried out in pain, the closed my mouth. I didn’t want someone to “assist” me. Too late. One of the workers was patrolling the area. She cried out, “Customer Service!” The manager and her adjunct came running. “What’s” “wrong?” they said. Oh no, I thought, they finish each other’s sentences. “I just abhor” “customers getting hurt.” “I absolutely” “abominate it.” “I’m not…” I started, but they kept going. “We’ll take” “that item” “away” “at once!” “But really, I’m not…” I tried again, but a “pop!” and a “crack!” interrupted me. The manager and her adjunct were gone! I hoped they weren’t hurled into an abyss. The bats would be awfully mad. Soon enough I snapped back to reality, and there were the other Target cronies coming at me, because of course I was to blame for their disappearing manager. Quickly I spewed out every accolade I knew. They were dumbstruck. I grabbed the fancy button-thing and ran. I thought I did a very good job. I had read the abridged Webster’s, after all. While I was complimenting myself, I pressed a button on the thing. “Whoa, a pink elephant abutting Target!” I said. The elephant said “Honk,” which I think means “Hop on!” Somehow, we flew to my friend’s house. (He didn’t have visible wings…) She saw us. “A pink elephant? You shouldn’t have.” “AAAABUUF!” the elephant honked. “What? That’s quite abstruse. Louder, please.” she said. “But he’s not…” I said. “Yes, yes. Wonderful present. What’s your name?” “AAAAABUUUUUUUFFFFFFFFFF!” “Okay, Abuff, now what in the world do you eat…” A few years later, I still have the button-thing (I haven’t a clue what it is, though), and we found what Abuff eats – clouds. (We pay a rather high premium for the cirrus kind he likes) I haven’t a qualm about stealing the button-thing. After all, did the store a favor by ridding them of that annoying duo. But even though it’s a good place for strange gifts, I advise you to stay away from Target – unless you want an adventure.

In a strange place…

“I just” “hate these” “stupid bats.”

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

Leave a Reply

