The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

 

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams, is a great book. It’s funny, and full of sarcasm and science fiction. A great thing about it is that it allows you to just read it. Until the later books, when it gets a lot more confusing, (So Long, and Thanks For All The Fish, anyone?) there’s no time-traveling tangle, multiple dimension mix-up, or child confusion. And thank goodness for that, because there’s a whole lot going on.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is such a funny and sarcastic book that I’ve read it and the sequels 4 times. The humor, and the great quotes that come with it, are my favorite parts of the book. And, really, who couldn’t love Adams’ humor?

The characters are incredibly strange, have surprisingly detailed stories, and jump to life on the page. Adams nails human nature and all the idiosyncrasies of humans. Though there are lots of characters, they’re all  linked together in one way or another, which is pretty darn awesome.

Overall, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is an incredibly great book, and I urge, no, force you to read it and all five in the series. In closing, 42.

Tags: ,

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

3 responses to “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”

  1. Uncle Mark says :

    Hello Isabelle.
    I think Douglas Adams must have played in a band as he knows things about bass players that only a musician would know.
    And any creature that thinks that if it can’t see you, you can’t see it can’t be all bad. Long live the Ravenous Bugblatter Beast!

  2. JP says :

    Hi, Isabelle — JP here. I went to high school (!) with your folks. Nice job on the blag. Sorry to say that the Adams pent-ogy are the only five books I have read on your list! Sad, really. I guess I have buried my head more into non-fiction. Boring.

    Anyway, regarding The Hitchhiker’s Guide: I agree with your assessment. I must add, though, that after having lived here in the UK for a couple of years, I really enjoyed the British undertones of the writing even more. It is a tribute to the writing that it translates so well into American.

    I suppose people are all the time giving you reading suggestions. Your dad introduced me to Kurt Vonnegut, so maybe you would consider trying on Cat’s Cradle for size. It is a quick and quirky read…and a good introduction to Vonnegut, methinks. Or maybe Welcome To The Monkey House — a collection of short stories — if you want to nibble on something more bite-sized.

    Off to see more of your blog. I have subscribed via RSS, so I will see your updates.

    Best of luck with BookSnarks! er, marks….

Leave a Reply

