The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey

TMBS2

Whew!, The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey, by Trenton Lee Stewart, is worthy of its mouthful of a name. (From now on, it’s TMBS and the PJ. Sounds like a band, doesn’t it?) It’s, as usual, full of twists and turns and adventure…but to me, at least, it doesn’t feel nearly as good as the original. It starts out more boringly than the original, but that’s just the calm before the storm as Mr. Benedict is kidnapped. To find him, the kids have to go on a round-the-world treasure hunt. I was hoping for more momentarily puzzling clues, but that’s just me. I feast on those sorts of things.

The middle of the book is good, with a ship, some clues, and fake diamonds.There are more moral dilemmas (grr..) this time about trust. To me, the book goes a bit downhill with the village.

At the village, they meet some henchmen of the book’s ultimate baddie, get captured, and get rescued under crazy circumstances. For the rest of the book, logic goes on vacation as they rescue Mr. Benedict and get back (of course) in time for pie.

TMBS and the PJ is good enough to check out, but not great enough to re-read. Still, I’m happy there’s another sequel coming.

Tags: , ,

About queenofokay

I'm Isabelle. I'm in 9th grade and go to school at Oak Hill School in Oregon. I love books and food. (And Doctor Who!) I fan-fic as Space Gandalf on Teaspoon (http://www.whofic.com/) I also love branding website Brand New, and magazine Mental_Floss. Music - The Talking Heads, Phoenix, Bombay Bicycle Club, .

Leave a Reply

